Board of Management

Boards of Management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term. The term of office for the current Boards of Management is from 1 December 2024 to 30 November 2028. The Board manages the school on behalf of the Patron and is accountable to the Patron and the Minister.

Board members are not delegates of their electorates. They have no obligation to either report back to their electors or to take instruction from them on how to vote at Board meetings. Such reporting may be a breach of confidentiality requirements. It is a matter for each Board to decide what may be reported and by whom and, in this respect, it is essential that personnel, financial and personal matters are dealt with in line with relevant confidentiality requirements.

Decisions arrived at by consensus or by vote are decisions of the Board. Individual members of the Board are obliged to keep confidential the matters discussed at meetings unless otherwise agreed by the Board and where so agreed, members of the Board must not publicly criticise or make any negative public comment about Board decisions, irrespective of their own personal views on the matter.”

What is the role of the Board of Management?

The Board is responsible for:

1) Maintaining the ethos of the School

2) The efficient management of resources of the school, both in respect of State funds and locally raised funds, in maintaining the fabric of the School building and providing sufficient resources for the Principal in his/her role of providing the best possible environment for the education of our children.

3) Ensuring the necessary statutory policies are in place in respect of curriculum, discipline, anti-bullying and child protection.

The Principal is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school, including guidance and direction of the teachers and other staff of the school, and is accountable to the Board for that management.

Current Board Members:

Chairperson – Rev. Philip Heak

Secretary – Lynn Harley

Teacher Rep – Kim Anderson

Patron’s Rep – Patrick Jackson

Parent Rep – Andrew Quinn

Parent Rep – Sofie Skehan

Community Rep – Margaret Courtney

Community Rep – Ian Massey